Curriculum Overview

Required Subjects for Graduation

For Grades 10~12

  • English: 3 years
  • Japanese: 3 years
  • Mathematics: 3 years
  • Social Studies: 3 years
  • Science: 3 years
  • Physical Education: 3 years
  • Art or Music: 1 year
  • Health Science: 1 year
  • Home Economics: 1 year

Academic Extension (AE)

Deans
Faculty Development Edward Consolati econsolati@keio.edu
Academic Programs Chad Combs ccombs@keio.edu
Student Affairs & Accreditation Kenichi Satate ksatate@keio.edu
Activities, Sports and Student Life Yoshiko Hori Sampson yhori@keio.edu
Educational Technology and Media John Rahenkamp jrahenkamp@keio.edu
Boarding Christopher de Lozier cdelozier@keio.edu
Admissions Tomio Yamamoto tyamamoto@keio.edu
     

 

                                        
Chairs of Departments
     
English  Christopher de Lozier cdelozier@keio.edu
Japanese Junko Hayami jhayami@keio.edu
Mathematics Dr Dusan Nesic dnesic@keio.edu
Music & Art Dr Martin Sedek msedek@keio.edu
Science & Technology Jason Gilley jgilley@keio.edu
Social Studies  Edward Consolati econsolati@keio.edu
Sport, PE & Health Science Yoshiko Hori Sampson yhori@keio.edu
Sports and Athletics  Andrine Trotman atrotman@keio.edu

Grade Levels & Academic Year

Grades 10~12 have a maximum capacity of 100 students each, and are divided into twelve homeroom classes.  Grade 9 has about 30 students in one homeroom class.

The academic year, which begins in September and ends in June, is made up of three terms.

Supplementary Language Courses

Students can take ESL or JSL classes. The aim of these classes is to improve students' English or Japanese language ability at an advanced pace to ensure competency.

TOEFL

Course offerings and course contents may vary year to year, depending on student numbers, instructors and/or instructor availability.

An in-school placement test, as well as semester grades and teacher recommendation, will determine whether a student should be placed in required elective courses in Grades 9 and 10. The student’s score on the TOEFL test (or other standardized tests) will not necessarily have an effect on the placements. In Grades 11 and 12, a wider variety of elective courses, in addition to Academic Extension, are offered for students to choose from.